Canadian Cattle Identification Agency announces new Board of Directors


Source: Canadian Cattle Identification Agency

Pat Hayes of Val Marie, SK, was elected as the new Board Chair of the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA) Board of Directors during the April meetings, exhibiting one of many changes to Board members for the industry-led, non-profit. Pat Hayes representing the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association replaced Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association representative, Mark Elford.

Each year, Board members elect an executive committee at the first meeting following the annual general meeting, which was held on April 2nd, 2019. Additional changes included Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association representative, Lyle Miller, being elected as Vice Chair; Alberta Beef Producers representative Howard Bekkering, re-elected as Finance Chair; Canadian Cattlemen’s Association representative Doug Sawyer, re-elected as Executive Member; and Ken Perlich, Livestock Markets Association representative, elected as an additional Executive Member.

CCIA’s Board of Directors consisting of 19 individuals, representing 16 member organizations, offers a full-range of expe- rience and expertise on traceability in Canada. CCIA is an independent organization and the responsible administrator of traceability for beef and dairy cattle, bison, sheep, goats and cervids; and is considered the first line of defence against animal disease outbreak.

The Board of Directors are responsible for strategic initiatives, evaluating financial performance, guidance and upholding CCIA’s role as leaders in national traceability. Each year CCIA publishes an Annual Report which is available online at: 2018 CCIA Annual Report

CCIA has a strong and engaging committee structure which provides on the ground support. Committee chairs include Pat Hayes, on the Executive Committee; Howard Bekkering on Finance and Audit; Doug Sawyer on the Board Govern- ance and Development; Mark Elford heads the Technical Advisory Committee; Dan Gillis of the Canadian Meat Council heads HR; and Ivan Johnson is the Chair of the Communications Committee.

New to the Board are Dan Darling of the Beef Farmers of Ontario, Nancy Howatt of the Manitoba Beef Producers and Shane Jahnke of the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association.

We would like to thank past Directors for their contribution and dedication to the CCIA Board.

CCIA welcomes new and returning members to the Board of Directors, and looks forward to working together to ad- vance traceability in 2019 and beyond.

2019 CCIA Board of Directors

Front Row, Left to Right: Nancy Howatt, Manitoba Beef Producers; Howard Bekkering, Alberta Beef Producers; Doug Sawyer, Canadian Cattlemen’s Association; Pat Hayes, CCIA Board Chair; Mark Elford, Saskatchewan Stock Growers Asso- ciation; Ken Perlich, Livestock Markets Association of Canada; Kim O’Neil, Canadian Meat Council.

Back Row, Left to Right: Corlena Patterson, Canadian Sheep Federation; Sylvain Bourque, Les Producteurs de bovins du Québec; Duncan Barnett, BC Cattlemen’s Association; Bruce Downey, Canadian Bison Association; Gert Schrijver, Dairy Farmers of Canada; Dr. Oliver Schunicht, Canadian Veterinary Medical Association; James MacLean, Canadian Livestock Dealers Association; Ivan Johnson, Maritime Beef Council; Reg Schellenberg, Canadian Cattlemen’s Association

Missing: Lyle Miller, Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association; Dan Darling, Beef Farmers of Ontario; Dan Gillis, Canadian Meat Council; Shane Jahnke, Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association, representatives from pending members: Canadian Cer- vid Alliance and Canadian National Goat Federation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here