Canadian Cattle Young Leaders names its 2023 semi-finalists


Source: Canadian Cattle Association

The Canadian Cattle Association’s (CCA) Canadian Cattle Young Leaders (CYL) Program is pleased to announce its semi-finalists for the upcoming 2023-2024 program year.

Since established by CCA in 2010, the Canadian CYL Program welcomes young people ages 18-35 from across Canada involved in all areas of the beef supply chain to build the next generation of industry leaders by providing unique mentorship, training, and professional and personal development opportunities.

Semi-finalists were selected by a judging panel from submitted written applications available annually from early January to the end of March on the Canadian CYL Program website. This year, we received 70 applications by tremendously impressive young people from across the country who are passionate about the future success of the Canadian beef industry.

Semi-finalists will be invited to attend the annual CYL Selections Competition taking place August 15, 2023, during the Canadian Beef Industry Conference in Calgary, AB. The semi-finalists will participate in judged roundtable discussions on timely beef industry related topics to compete for a spot in the upcoming program year.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s outstanding applicants. CCA’s board and staff applaud each of you for your eagerness to learn and grow within the beef industry.” said Nathan Phinney, CCA President. “Young people bring fresh perspectives and innovative ideas to the agriculture industry, and our future is dependent on investing in our young leaders.”

The 2023 semi-finalists, in no particular order, are:

  • British Columbia: Brett Squair (Lumby), Cassie Marchand (Vernon), and Kayla Shallard (Hixon)
  • Alberta: Adeleen Bolduc (Stavely), Ashley Nicholls (Foothills County), Blaire Sawyer (Pine Lake), Brayden Schmidt (Didsbury), Coleman Nixdorff (Rocky View County), Denay Bjornson (Wanham), Erick Santos (Edmonton), Karlene Yakemchuk (Hairy Hill), Rob Ziegler (Okotoks), Shae Wasyliw (High River) and Zoe Gould (Consort)
  • Saskatchewan: Brooke Martin (Piapot) and Levi Hurlburt (Moose Jaw)
  • Manitoba: Kristelle Harper (Brandon) and Marianne Sytnyk (Oakburn)
  • Ontario: Carolyn Darling (Castleton), Emily Bromley (Renfrew), Kaley Mackie Rodman (Northern Bruce Peninsula)
  • Quebec: Laurie Côté-Sarrazin (Clerval), Patrick Sullivan (Gracefield)
  • Nova Scotia: Susan Hamilton (Truro)

Following the competition, the selected finalists will be matched with an industry leader in their specific area of interest in the beef industry for a nine-month mentorship opportunity. They will also be granted a $2,000 budget to fund their engagement in various industry events and learning opportunities throughout the year, with additional travel and networking opportunities throughout the program year.

These exceptional opportunities would not be possible without the generous support of program Foundation Partners Cargill, MNP, McDonald’s Canada and New Holland, and Gold Partners, Farm Credit Canada, Alltech, RBC Future Launch and Elanco.

About the Canadian Cattle Young Leaders

Canadian Cattle Young Leaders (CYL) welcomes young people ages 18-35 across Canada, involved in various aspects of the beef supply chain, to be paired with an industry leader in their specific area of interest for a nine-month mentorship. Through mentorship, networking, and travel, the Canadian CYL Program acts as an industry succession planning tool to equip the next generation of leaders with the skills and tools they need to continue to drive the growth and profitability of the Canadian beef industry. Since established by the Canadian Cattle Association in 2010, the program has seen over 170 CYL graduates. Program applications are open annually for ages 18-35 on our website from early January to the end of March. Learn more at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here